To Truly Care: Personal Post


Think of life as a terminal illness, because, ...

Think of life as a terminal illness, because, if you do, you will live it with joy and passion, as it ought to be lived. (Photo credit: Christolakis)

English: A Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu black belt.

 A Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu black belt. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

SIDENOTE:

I’ve used this in a previous post …I found this quote via:

http://www.cristianmihai.net and am grateful for his post in relation to this quote.

this is a quote from David Foster Wallace

“The really important kind of freedom involves attention and awareness and discipline, and being able truly to care about other people and to sacrifice for them over and over in myriad petty, unsexy ways every day.”

Once, upon running into an old friend, he said “you’re straight out of mythology”.

He continued to tell me he had heard over the years, I had been struck by lightning, I was on tour with so and so, I was dead, I was in a coma, I competed in Jiu-jitsu, did parkour and taught BJJ as well,I had a terminal illness.. and a few others…

All  but the death bit are true.

I lived my life because I contracted a terminal illness before most children know what terminal illness means.

I’m an honest creature, who’s been too “I am an Island” and not enough “No Man Is An Island”.

Where I never needed anyone to feel life and love. Now I do, in fact desperately.

The past few months I’ve watched all but 2 maybe 3 ‘friends’ slowly back away, at a loss for words, unable to cope. ..and believe me I understand my friends…no matter what I love you.

HERE’S THE AMAZING UNSEXY ACT OF KINDNESS:

Someone, I met in a hospital a long time ago who I hadn’t talked to much sent me a novel of an e-mail. I feel that the universe sent him a message…and I am grateful.

We began talking almost non-stop, e-mail, phone (I never talk on the phone).

When he found out the depth of my situation he decided to drop EVERYTHING and move to Texas, to live with me. To be my constant friend, companion, and eventually caretaker. Language can not convey my gratitude to him and to one other.

THAT IS ONE PART:

Once the decision was made we moved on to the hows and whens…

This is when I sent as S.O.S

The person who answered floored me with generosity.

On a moments notice he went above, beyond, and out of his way to make it happen. ..and he did…asking nothing in return.

To him, you will never know how you gave me the chance to LIVE the way I had again..before I move on….I want so much to repay you..I have an inclination that you will be

The One Slide: End of Life Questions

 End of Life Questions (Photo credit: stevegarfield)

in strange ways…by the universe, karma, God….whoever is running this show knows your kindness.

You have done what most of humanity would never consider.

and I shake as I type Thank you.

With all my Love, Respect, and Gratitude,

-a girl who lived life to the fullest through the grace of others.

16 responses to “To Truly Care: Personal Post

  1. I appreciate the candidness of your post. I see no “harsh” – only the fear of being alone and the relief of knowing you didn’t have to be by yourself. I am glad that you feel peace and joy in your life.

  2. Pingback: Trifecticating Myself | an honest day or two

  3. It was the best decision I have ever made. You are the best person I have ever known and it only gets better with each passing day,hour,minute,second,millisecond,etc. I Love You PI much.

Leave a Reply

