“Limited edition of 1,000; love songs for the psychotically disturbed” : LOVE BUZZ :100 WORD SONG


This week  LANCE, LEEROY THE ROBOT AND THE 100 WORD SONG take us back to a time where music was changing in unexpected ways…Choosing NIRVANA’S Cover of “Love Buzz “(originally by Shocking Blue) released as their first single in 1988.

IF YOU GET A CHANCE CHECK OUT KURT COBAIN‘S JOURNALS…WITH THE PROLIFIC OPENING LINES…

“DON’T READ MY DIARY WHEN I’M GONE”…THEN IMMEDIATELY AFTER …”OK, I’M GOING TO WORK NOW, WHEN YOU WAKE UP THIS MORNING, PLEASE READ MY DIARY, LOOK THOUGH MY THINKS AND FIGURE ME OUT”…(KURT COBAIN – JOURNALS).

A LOT SAID IN TWO LINES…

BEFORE I HAVE A GO… here’s what  Lance has to say…

“This is the 24th anniversary of me discovering one of my favorite bands of all-time, Nirvana.

The vinyl LP has a coffee cup stain on it, I remember that much. Nirvana’s first record, Bleach, was ignored by everyone  at our student radio station save for me, and our music director, Pat. He was seven years older than my 19, at the time. Pat loved metal, from Black Sabbath to King Diamond to Metallica. But he was very into this obscure band from the Northwest with a new release on Sub Pop. At the time, my music snobbery was in full blown overload DefCon 1. It had to be punk or college radio alternative or something Top 40 would run from. Nirvana’s Bleach fit all of these categories and I couldn’t get enough of the besmirched record. The single my radio station played was a cover of a Dutch band, Shocking Blue, called Lovebuzz. Kurt Cobain does a great job with it, infuses humor and blistering guitar, and three minutes or so later, you feel like you’d heard something completely and had a great time. Nirvana became my Olive, in many different ways until 1994. Oh, and it fits my story….”

Click Lance’s name up ^ there to read on…

and here’s the song “love Buzz” with the previously omitted 10 second sound collage…

Cover of "Journals" Cover of Journals[/caption]

“Limited edition of 1,000; love songs for the psychotically disturbed” 

My head cracked repeatedly,

bones broken,

spinal taps,

“ALL WE NEED IS ….”believe it true,

not in the pastnot ’till I found you

or you found me..

the universe ..it’s

INFINITY

pushed us south …meeting briefly,

disappearing momentarily

year-and-a -half -Actually,

see ..

“I have friends both on land, and in the sky,

But, The Sea?  I dog paddle”…

taught me to swim

thew me a rope

if we never happened..

hope turned  a pipe dream…

music, my king, saved  lives,

power of three opened our eyes…

“Would you believe me when I do …”?

…always..

eternally..

.. I believe you…

– love you offer up to me

-only buzz necessary.

(i EDITED A LOT OUT..APOLOGIES TO LANCE FOR BEING ONE OR TWO WORDS OVER)

 

SIDE NOTE: ENDING THOUGHTS:

“I mean, what are they supposed to do? They’re not going to be able to tell me to stop. So I really didn’t care. Obviously to them it was like practicing witchcraft or something. They didn’t know anything about it so they thought that any second, I was going to die.”- Kurt Cobain

On April 8, 1994, Cobain’s body was found, 

A note was found, addressed to Cobain’s childhood imaginary friend “Boddah“, that stated that Cobain had not “felt the excitement of listening to as well as creating music, along with really writing . . . for too many years now”.

I will never forget the compassion I felt for Kurt, his daughter , family and friends….or exactly where I was…and what I was wearing.

2 responses to ““Limited edition of 1,000; love songs for the psychotically disturbed” : LOVE BUZZ :100 WORD SONG

    • wow…thanks GBD …I’m so happy you liked it…I was just tell Lance (100 word song inventor) that you, my fiance, and lance’s opinions are the ones that matter:)
      love you brother.

Leave a Reply

