THE MUSICAL MANUFACTURING OF ME :TWISTED MIX TAPE #27 :SEMINAL SONGS THAT MADE YOU WHO YOU ARE TODAY


IT’S TUESDAY WHICH MEANS IT TIME FOR SOME TUNES. THIS WEEK TWISTED MIX TAPE 27 (CLICK TO JOIN IN) BROUGHT TO YOU BY JEN, HAS LET ONE OF MY FAVORITE BLOGGERS AND AN ALL AROUND BEAUTIFUL PERSON, TROY, TAKE THE WHEEL. HE’S DIGGING DEEP INTO OUR MUSICAL SOUL’S ASKING FOR 5 SEMINAL SONGS THAT MADE US WHO WE ARE TO DAY…DIG ON BROTHER:)

HERE’S THE LOWDOWN FROM JEN (GIVING US AN ESCAPE HATCH IF NEEDED):

” I am guessing Troy’s been thinking about this one for a while. The topic, in Troy’s word’s:

 the (5) seminal songs who made you the person you are today. The shutter-openers, the wakers, the “I can see clearly now the rain is goners.” The tunes that forced you to look in the mirror and say, “Hey good-looking, you seem familiar, yet new.”
 
Now because I’m nice, and I want you all to play, I will allow you to use this as a favorite of all times. But only if you’re really stumped! (frankly I think these songs are probably favorites too) Sorry Troy, you know I love you, but I wanted a trap door so everyone would play!”
-This is a doozie-only because there are SO many songs that shaped my life…I’m going to let my soul fly open and see what pops up…here goes…
The walls of Troy IV

The walls of Troy IV (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

THE MUSICAL MANUFACTURING OF ME: 5 SEMINAL SONGS:

First off I’ll dig way back to conception…Knowing for a fact I was conceived with a little help from Mr. Elvis Presley – I’m not sure of the exact  song so I’ll go with the first song I knew all the words (and music) too at age 3-4

“Suspicious Minds” by Mr. Presley himself (perfect for a 3 year old:)

 

Although many songs shaped me between the ages of 4 to 12, Huey Luis’s entire album “Four” being some of them (age 8?) ..one of my first vinyls ..I’m going to time travel to 12 , afterall, it’s been scientifically proven that the music you hear/love between the ages of 12-16 sticks with you throughout life (I’ll try to find a link to that article)

I’ve mentioned this before in a post for RaisedOnTheRadio, at 12 music possessed me…one song I couldn’t get enough of..listen, rewind repeat,

THE CURE – Love Cats

Also in these musical years punk rock was fanning the fire of my future…Many bands such as Minor Threat, Bad Religion, The Dead Kennedys,The Descendants Crass and so on..but this album I couldn’t get enough of…

Fugazi – Repeater

I’m cheating here…throwing an extra one in because to this day Blake Schwarzenbach frontman for Jawbreaker, then Jets to Brazil and The Forgetters, Now an English Professor at SUNY, is still one of my all time favorite lyricists.

—and since it’s the first of the month–RABBIT RABBIT – to you all, especially you Blake.

Jawbreaker – Jinx Removing

This is so difficult…I’m having trouble narrowing the list

Next, the first classical piece I learned on Piano – a song that is constantly running through my head (along with Moonlight Sonata)

Johann Sebastian Bach‘s – Air In G (string and keys versions)

TROY!!! This is so difficult!

Ok, two more.

(apologies to all for breaking the 5 song rule)

Another one of my favorite lyricists, Jeff Tweedy, Frontman from Uncle Tupelo, and then Wilco…I love everything from Wilco, but Jeff Tweedy’s solo acoustic “Live in The Pacific-Northwest” takes the cake…

Jeff Tweedy (Wilco) – Shot In The Arm-Better known for “I  am Trying To Break Your Heart“-(i love the intro banter here:)) (also check out “Satan your kingdom must come down-haunting)

Lastly but far from leastly …The song and man that brought my fiance and I together….a musical genius and a kind soul ..(@symbionproject on twitter)

Kasson a.k.a Symbion Project – Ocean Full Of Waves  (if you like..also check out Like One Returning From The Waves…I’m not posting it because it’s on reserve for something special)

and one more from Symbion

…as you can see this was truly a musical trial for this girl, apologies for the 5 rule being broken….”music is my savior” and I couldn’t narrow it down…more like the 500 seminal songs:)

THANKS TO JEN, TROY, THE MUSICIANS,MY AUDITORY CORTEX AND ALL THE TWISTED MIX TAPE’ERS


-aseablackwithink

 

10 responses to “THE MUSICAL MANUFACTURING OF ME :TWISTED MIX TAPE #27 :SEMINAL SONGS THAT MADE YOU WHO YOU ARE TODAY

  1. Nice mix Babygirl. I love how you mentioned you were conceived while an elvis song was playing. I’m glad you were conceived. I’m grateful to the universe and the gods for bring us together after 3 decades of searching for the perfect fit. The perfect lady, the perfect fiance, and soon to be my perfect wife. :*

      • I love your words too. I love your legs, your breasts, your lips, your touch, your soft soft skin, your voice, the way you speak, your smile, your lovely smell, your soft, smooth hair, your laugh, making you laugh, your eyes and looking deep into them, spooning with you, cuddling, hugging, holding, and kissing you. I love the taste of your kisses. I love our passion for one another. I’ll tell you more of what I love later, in private. 😉

  2. This is a great list. I love so many of the songs, and I really see how connected you are to them. It was hard for me too. But once you dig in, you realize if you love music then it shaped you like it or not. Two funny things, you are not the only one who mentioned the influence of music during the middle school years, and you are not the only person who mentioned Moonlight Sonata. I also loved Uncle Tupelo, so thanks for that memory!

    • I’m so glad you liked it…if you’re interested and don’t have tweedys(uncle tupelo, wilco) solo album and documentary” live in the pacific northwest” let me know. .have droobox will travel…I love what you have created…music is essential for life. Thank you, truly.

  3. Pingback: Twisted Mixtape Tuesday: The real story, and the music that saved me from country | Rob's Surf Report

  4. cool list! wilco is a favorite. my husband loves “suspicious minds”. this was truly a herd topic to get my head around. but it was great to sit down and think about it and just listen.

    • Totally agreed…Troy picked a doozie…however, I’m happy he did…It really made me think..hard..a lot.:)
      Any Wilco lover is a friend of mine!You and your man have good taste…but somehow I already knew that!
      Thanks for reading Lady Linda

Leave a Reply

